jump to navigation

Holy Days with Gracelyn December 14, 2010

Posted by Shonnie in Life with Baby, Parenting.
trackback

Gracelyn and the stocking Momma sewed

Christmas has always been my favorite holiday, though I’m finding that I enjoy the spirit of Thanksgiving more and more as the years go by.  Of course, didn’t someone once say that holidays are even better with a child around? (I’m certain there’s an exact quote somewhere but I don’t know what it is.) What I’m not sure I’ve ever heard, however, is that each day with our children is a Holy Day.

Is being a parent challenging? Yes. Is it more than I sometimes believe I can do well? Yes. Does caring for a child call on each and every skill I’ve ever needed in an “outside” job? Yep. Do I make mistakes and sometimes wish I had a moment to redo? Yes again.

Daddy & Gracelyn in front of the Christmas tree

Is being a parent something that calls forth the very best of my heart, soul, and mind? Yes. Is it more vivid, inspiring, and amazing than I ever could have imagined? Yes. Does caring for Gracelyn leave me breathless with awe, gratitude, and contentment? Yes. Am I still immeasurably blessed even when I’ve goofed? Yes. For these and countless more “yes”es, I have determined that now I don’t need to wait for a holiday to truly savor the breadth and depth of life’s joy. Every day with my beloved Gracelyn is a holy, holy day.

May you each find that which brings holiness, and wholeness, to your lives. Wishing you a blessing-full holiday season!

Comments»

1. Beth Townsend - December 14, 2010

Happy Holidays to your lovely family! And look at Gracelyn holding her head up so beautifully! I love seeing these pictures…keep ’em coming!

2. Abby Bates - December 15, 2010

Beautifully said !!!


Leave a Reply

