jump to navigation

How did the baby come to be? March 5, 2010

Posted by Shonnie in Parenting, Pregnancy.
trackback

Okay, we’re not planning to conduct a sex-ed course here. We simply want to share a few details about the getting pregnant process, since the topic of having a child wasn’t one we’d talked with many folks about.

The prelude

Bruce and Shonnie the day we learned we were pregnantAt the beginning of 2009, Bruce and I decided that I’d stop using birth control and, doing nothing extraordinary, we’d see if I got pregnant. We weren’t adamant that we needed a child, yet we were open to bringing a child into our lives if that’s what was meant to be. Given our ages we figured that the odds might be long on such an occurrence. This is also part of the reason that we trust we were meant to be parents…because we did get pregnant without working at it more than is required by any mom- and dad-to-be.

The clue

In early December, as I was finishing my final course in graduate school (earning my Masters in Organizational Leadership from Gonzaga University), I started to wake up daily between 3-5 a.m. While I’m naturally an early riser, this was beyond early. I didn’t think much of it since I was finishing my final paper and was full of excitement and ideas. When I was done with coursework however, and we were enjoying a fabulous vacation on the Caribbean island of Saba, and the early morning rising continued, I thought something unusual was going on.

The discovery

Back home in Asheville I awoke on my birthday (28th of December) thinking I might take a pregnancy test, but didn’t do so as I wasn’t late for my period at that point. The morning of January 1, 2010, however, I thought that this news would be a perfect way to begin the new year. So, as the pregnancy test procedure is commonly known, I peed on a stick and waited 2 minutes. And here’s what I saw:

I hurriedly roused Bruce and shared with him the amazing, if even astounding to us, news that we had conceived another life. I was so surprised, in fact, that I bought another pregnancy test later that day to test again. Here’s what it showed:

So, as they told you in sex ed class, it does only take one time to get pregnant. We feel incredibly blessed to have this opportunity to nurture another life and share the experience of parenting with each other.

Comments»

1. Kelly Powell - March 5, 2010

Congratulations! I am so excited for you! I am a huge fan of “gently used” baby stuff. So much of it they use for so little an amount of time! I look forward to hearing more updates!

Shonnie - March 5, 2010

Thank you so much, Kelly. Watching you with Annalise was inspirational to me. What a loving and present momma you are!

2. Daniel Barber - March 5, 2010

That’s so cool, y’all!!! No doubt you two will be amazing parents, and all of you (my cousin’s niece has triplets…. ;-O ) will be lucky to have each other! Have you heard about Orgasmic Birthing? for a teaser… hmmm, pun, well, noticed… http://www.orgasmicbirth.com/

Shonnie - March 6, 2010

We’re fine with one delightful child…which s/he already is shaping up to be. We figure a 2-1 ratio is a good one. 🙂 My friend told me about the Orgasmic Birth film which we plan to watch. Thanks for the “second” on this idea, Daniel.

3. Laurey - March 5, 2010

Congratulations. Last week at Jubilee I saw you holding your belly and wondered…

What an adventure!

Love,
Laurey

Shonnie - March 6, 2010

Thank you, Laurey! I thought some folks might notice my belly holding and wonder what it meant. We’re both so grateful to have Jubilee community to welcome our child into. How lucky we all are!

4. Daniel Barber - March 6, 2010

I’ll envision the day when we play “You Are So Beautiful” to this new being and to y’all…

5. D Jan Matney - March 6, 2010

Congratulations! You two are dancing to the beat of your own favorite pop song, and I’m confident this new life will too.
xxJan

Shonnie - March 6, 2010

Thanks so much, Jan! If the nut doesn’t fall too far from momma and poppa tree, it surely will be swaying to it’s own breeze! 🙂

6. Loyd Kinnett - March 6, 2010

My, my, life is sooo good – just thinking about a little baby lavmulk running around into kitty food and pulling kitty tails makes me smile. So delighted for you and love you, love you, Loyd

Shonnie - March 6, 2010

We’re going for a happy household for all (furred and fleshed alike) so I’m visualizing loving relations. Thanks for all the loving wishes.

7. Barbara Earle and Stephen Houpis - March 6, 2010

WOW!!!!!!!!! Congratulations and best wishes for a happy healthy pregnancy. We are so pleased and happy for you both. You will be incredible parents. We look forward to sharing this experience with you!!

Shonnie - March 6, 2010

Thank you both! We’re grateful to share this experience with our entire family and community.

8. themichellesmith - March 6, 2010

You know, Shonnie and Bruce, one of the things that keeps me truly optimistic about our odds of transforming and transcending as a species is this: More and more children are being birthed and raised by conscious people. These children will be so much further along in their conscious evolution or at least be able to progress so much faster and further than those of us who really had to, sort of, fight for our conscious evolution, if you know what I mean. And one well-evolved conscious person has so much more power than hundreds or even thousands of unconscious persons. I’m happy for us all that you two decided to bring another soul through. It appears someone was just waiting for the chance to be your greatest teacher!
Peace and fun through it all,
Michelle

Shonnie - March 7, 2010

I agree with your sentiments, Michelle. And I truly believe that we’re going to have a conscious and evolved child because we’re in need of more learning and growth. Our cats are similar teachers to us. It’s why I personally don’t believe that humans are the “most evolved” of species. We have so much intelligence in many areas, but many times seem to lack ancient wisdom. Thank you for your support and love!


Leave a Reply

